What Is a Let in Tennis? A Pro Explains
Whether you're tuning into Wimbledon 2025, or just heavily invested in the tenniscore trend, tennis is definitely having a moment. But it can be hard to enjoy the sport when you don't understand all the jargon. After all, the language of tennis — from break points to a player's advantage — is completely unique, and often a little confusing. Case in point: next time you watch a match, you might hear the official call out “let.” But what does that actually mean?
Instead of leaving you stumped, we asked a USTA pro to explain exactly what a let refers to. Ahead, she answers all of our most pressing questions, including what a let is, when it can occur, and who can call it. Get the full rundown below, and feel like a pro the next time you spectate.
Experts Featured in This Article
Karla Noboa is a USPTA Level 1 Certified Pro and coach.
What Is a Let in Tennis?
A let is typically called when “the serve hits the net cord but still lands in the service court,” Noboa explains. This allows the server to repeat the serve without it being considered a fault. Lets can also be called when there's any form of interruption, like if you're playing on side-by-side courts and the ball from the other game enters your court. A let can even be called for things like the ball being damaged, but whatever the case, it signals a pause and a replay. One other important note: lets only exist in professional tennis. In college tennis, lets are played.
How Many Lets Can You Have in a Row?
The limit does not exist. Or, as Noboa says, “There's no set limit to the number of lets that can occur in a row.” Serena Williams once had four in a row, although that's unusual (and might even elicit some murmurs from the crowd or commentators).
Who Can Call a Let?
Interestingly, it's not just the chair umpire who can call a let. “A let can be called by any player on the court, including the players themselves, or by the chair umpire,” Noboa says. So you might hear the call coming from more people than you'd expect. That said, usually the umpire or the opposing player will call the let. And sometimes, you'll hear them say “net” instead of “let.”
Can You Call a Let on Your Own Serve?
Yes. “A player can call a let on their own serve if the serve hits the net cord but still lands in the service court, or if there is interference during the service motion,” Noboa tells Popsugar. So now that you know everything there is to know about lets, go off and share your newfound wisdom (or just enjoy the game with more knowledge).
— Additional reporting by Alexis Jones, Jade Esmeralda, and Chandler Plante
Hedy Phillips is a POPSUGAR contributor.
Alexis Jones is the senior health and fitness editor at PS. Her passions and areas of expertise include women's health and fitness, mental health, racial and ethnic disparities in healthcare, and chronic conditions. Prior to joining PS, she was the senior editor at Health magazine. Her other bylines can be found at Women's Health, Prevention, Marie Claire, and more.
Jade Esmeralda, MS, CSCS, is a Staff Writer, Health & Fitness. A life-long martial artist and dancer, Jade has a strong passion for strength & conditioning, sports science, and human performance. She graduated with a Master of Science degree in Exercise Science and Strength and Conditioning from George Washington University.
Chandler Plante (she/her) is an assistant health and fitness editor for PS. She has over four years of professional journalism experience, previously working as an editorial assistant for People magazine and contributing to Ladygunn, Millie, and Bustle Digital Group.